Personalize Lock Fields | D365 Platform

The ‘Loch Ness Monster’ is not that kind of ‘Lock’. Regardless, you want to lock monsters from ruining your system with bad data entry.


Lock Fields

In personalization, Lock allows users to view fields, but not change their values. To lock a field, right click, select personalize, and then check the lock button.

As with all personalization features, these locked fields can be distributed to other users as published saved views.


Can’t This Be Done Through Security?

Yes. Without personalization, controlling who can see or edit what fields is managed through security. If you click on security diagnostics for the Vendor form, you can see there are two security privileges: one to view vendors and one to maintain (edit) vendor data.

To lock down a subset of fields through security, a system administrator would need to create a new security privilege (or modified copy of the maintain vendors privilege) and assign it to the desired duties or roles.

An advantage of locking fields through personalization is that it is easier to see which fields are being locked through the UI. Also, users can have multiple views – It’s possible have a default view where the data is not editable, but allow the user to toggle to another view where the data can be edited. This would be a more difficult proposition to manage through security. Pro tip – if you care very much about tracking edits to a particular field, consider enabling database logging on that field.


Lock Many Fields

Personalizations can be applied to individual fields, as well as Field Groups or FastTabs. If you want to lock lots of fields on a form, the easiest way to do this is by opening the personalization toolbar, clicking Lock and then clicking on the desired Field Group or FastTab.

Clicking on the Payment group controls all fields in the Payment group

Clicking on the Payment FastTab controls all fields in the Payment FastTab


That’s pretty much the whole concept – Lock, Stock, and Barrel.

Additional Reading
Personalize the user experience
D365 security topics
Database logging

Personalize Required Fields | D365 Platform Update

Photo: Charge of the Light Brigade by Richard Caton Woodville Jr.

For want of a nail the shoe was lost;
For want of a shoe the horse was lost;
For want of a horse the battle was lost;
For the failure of battle the kingdom was lost—
All for the want of a horse-shoe nail.


Little things matter. Sometimes little things matter a great deal. Adding required fields helps prevent little bits of data from being lost on the great battlefield of D365.


Personalize Required Fields

In Platform Update 10.0.12. Require has been added as an option to the personalization toolbar.

As long-time readers will remember, the personalization toolbar can be accessed through the option tab, or by pressing the Ctrl+Shift+P hotkey. Once open, the user clicks on Require, then clicks on the fields to be required, and then closes the personalization toolbar.


Saved Views

As Saved views, these personalizations can be published to the desired members of the organization through security roles (see Publish saved views link below in additional reading for more details).

In addition to being a no-development solution, an advantage to this approach is that different fields can be required from different users. Imagine a business process where a general projects team create new projects across the company, but project managers are expected to enter a projected start and end date for visibility once they are specifically assigned to and begin maintaining their project.

Requiring the field through a saved view makes it easy for the project team to create and update other elements of the project through a standard view, while the Project manager’s view requires these data points to be entered.

Project manager view requires project start / end dates

Error message for Project manager not entering required fields

With fields populated, happy projects are all the same.

Additional Reading
Platform updates for version 10.0.12 of Finance and Operations
Personalize the user experience
Publish saved views

Enable Saved Views

As regular readers know, Saved Views enhance the Finance and Operation experience, empowering users to save sets of personalizations and navigate forms more efficiently.

In earlier versions, this preview feature had to be enabled through SQL code – starting in Platform update 33, Saved views can now be activated in the Feature management workspace.

Go to Feature Management Workspace

If you do not see the Saved views feature, click Check for updates. Depending on how far in the future you are, you may also need to toggle from the “New” tab to the “Not enabled” tab.

Hello readers in the future. How is it there?

Select Saved Views Feature

Click “Enable now” at bottom right.

Saved Views Feature Will Now Be Enabled

A green check mark and enabled date will now display next to the feature.

When activating the Saved views feature, also consider enabling the Grouping in grids and New grid control features.

Additional Reading
Saved Views
Grouping In Grids
New Grid Control

Saved Views

One of the preview features I’m most excited about in Platform update 29 is saved views.

Saved Views – What are they?

In D365, personalizations enable users to Hide, Add, or Move fields on a given form. A Saved View can best be thought of as a set of personalizations, and saved views allow users to toggle between multiple sets of personalizations.

New users of D365 are frequently overwhelmed by the volume of fields and buttons available on every form. Saved views provide a way for users to pare the number of fields displayed in their day-to-day tasks, while still giving them access to the extra functionality should the need arise.

Saved Views – How are they enabled?

As a preview feature, there is a line of SQL code needs to be run to enable their flighting. More information can be found here:

Saved Views – How do they work?

When enabled, all forms now start in a standard “Classic view”:

If a form is modified through a personalization, the Classic view gains a Barry-Bonds-like asterisk. The asterisk indicate the form has been enhanced:

By clicking on the view button, the user now has the ability to save this as a new view:

The user can now name this new view, as well as decide whether to make this the default view every time the form is accessed.

Clicking the view button, this new view is now a new option the user can select for how the form is presented. The user always has the option of clicking back to the Classic view to see the standard presentation of the form.

That’s Great! What Else?

Saved views can be used for personalizations (adding, moving, hiding fields). Saved views can also be used for the sorting/filtering of columns. This is a huge extension of the form personalization capabilities.

Additionally, saved views can be published and shared at the role level bringing the management of personalizations much more in light with security management. I’d like to do another post on the sharing of views, as well as a video digging deeper into applications for shared views, but those will have to wait for another day.

Fewer Clicks, More Actions: Workspaces, Personalizations

I just arrived home from this year’s User Group Summit, what a great experience! So many great presenters and amazing sessions. I especially want to thank those of you who attended my own session on workspaces and personalizations. It would have been significantly less fun had you not been there – and I think we all learned a lot!!!

There were several requests for the additional presentation slides, so I am posting them here. Please feel free to download them by clicking through to SlideShare, and do share them widely.

I plan to do a series of blog posts in the upcoming weeks that will dive deeper into some of the session’s topics, so enter your email address into the subscribe box on the right if that is content you’d find of interest.



Nervous Selfie Before
Excited Group Selfie After