Move and Hide Fields – Personalization | D365 Platform

Bill And Ted 3 Officially Happening With Keanu Reeves And Alex Winter Returning
So-crates, from Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989)

Let him who would move the world first move himself” – Socrates


Rounding out this personalization series, let’s take a look at the move and hide features.

I think these two features should be more widely utilized. D365 forms are designed for multiple personas / business processes. Decluttering forms for specific personas by moving less frequently used fields farther down the form or hiding them completely is an easy way to increase day-to-day efficiency, as well as simplify the training/change-management process.


Move a Field

Open the personalization toolbar Ctrl+Shift+P and select the Move button. Click on the Field, Field Group, or FastTab to be moved. From there, drag with the cursor or use the Arrow Keys to indicate where the form element should go. I find using the arrows a bit easier to control. An orange indicator line displays where the form indicator will go, and Enter will set the field in its new location. Close the personalization toolbar to view the result.

Moving the Responsible field group to the end of the General FastTab.
Note the highlighted indicator line.

Result after closing the personalization toolbar.

Move can also be used to adjust the column order on a listpage.


Hide a Field

The hide feature works similar to the move feature. Hide can be applied to Fields, Field Groups, or FastTabs, as well as Tabs, Groups, or Buttons in the form’s header ribbon. It can be done through the personalization toolbar, or by right-clicking, selecting personalize, and then selecting Hide for the desired form element.

Right-click, Personalize, and Hide the Project team and scheduling FastTab.

The FastTab disappears from the form.

But Where Do Hidden Fields Go?

Dust. Wind. Dude. …Woah.

No, the fields aren’t lost forever. Using the Personalization toolbar, click on the hide button to reveal which form elements have been hidden through personalization.

Some parts of the Projects form are hidden, but which ones?
I don’t have a photographic memory.

Open Personalization toolbar and selecting Hide
What was hidden is now revealed.